top of page

Welcome to the Falls Creek Museum. We invite you to visit and immerse yourself in the diverse history of Falls Creek from its origins in the 1940's to today.  Previous displays have included 'A look at the history of ski lift construction', 'The history of safety with Ski Patrol" and our 'Snowboard display' and the 1980's Summit Masters Competition display. Visitors can come and relax and read a book from our museum library while watching our DVD on the history of Falls Creek.

Falls Creek Historical Society  was proud to attend the Australian Alpine Snowsports History Association (AASHA) Conference at Thredbo Alpine Resort in May 2023.

The conference had been rescheduled several times due to COVID and the recent Falls Creek landslide. Thredbo Alpine Museum generously agreed to take on hosting responsibilities so the event could occur after a two and a half year hiatus. The Falls Creek Historical Society looks forward to taking on hosting responsibilities again in the future.

Check out the AASHA facebook page for further details. 

On Top of The World - Expression of Interest Opportunity 

Falls Creek Historical Society (FCHS) invites interested artists to submit a proposal for a piece of public art that honours Falls Creek’s rich history and environs. FCHS is an inclusive organisation and supports artists from diverse backgrounds. 

Established in 2012, FCHS has occupied a museum space in the Panabode Building since 2016. A registered Charity with DGR Status, FCHS is committed to ensuring the collection, preservation, and interpretation of the unique history of Falls Creek and the 

Bogong High Plains. By way of interactive and informative displays and detailed archiving, we aim to stimulate community interest and involvement in preserving and presenting our distinct alpine history.  Alongside the comprehensive museum collection, 

there are plans to undertake diverse methods of storytelling such as curated walks, village history trails, public art and pop-up museum displays.

 

In 2018 the Eagle Chairlift in the Bowl at Falls Creek was replaced with new chairlift infrastructure. Falls Creek Ski Lifts auctioned the ‘old’ chairs at an event in the village bowl and generously donated the proceeds to FCHS along with Chair 47, to represent 1947, the year Falls Creek was named.

 

FCHS is asking artists to submit an expression of interest that reflects not only the history of Falls Creek but might also incorporate several of the old chairs in its design. The Historical Society has up to 4 chairs that can be used. 

 

Closing date: 30 April 2024For Expression f Interest Document please contact us via Email to info@fallscreekmuseum.com.au

During the Winter months, the Falls Creek Museum is open  when the yellow flags are out. 

 

We also open during school holidays and event weekends in the summer. The museum is open for the remainder of the year by appointment. 

bottom of page